Money-Saving Tip 2

Shortly after marrying, my husband said, “I need a haircut.”

“Okay,” I answered.

Then he sat there, giving me a look. “You’re going to cut my hair.”

I can’t remember if I was eating something at the time, but I would have choked if I had. I had no experience cutting hair. My own mother gave my sister and me the old cut-your-bangs-with-Scotch-tape drill; but, besides that, we and my younger brother always went to Great Clips or the neighbor’s house.

My husband demonstrated the ultimate in trust when he purchased a hair-cutting kit and sat down in front of me.

Fast-forward past how many years we’ve been married, and I’m still cutting his hair. I’m also the primary hairdresser for our four boys. Number 5 can look forward to a similar treatment.

cloudypixel-ZPRBeg7Lsh0-unsplash.jpg

Since boys need a trim every two months or so, the practice has really saved us money.

Since boys’ haircuts are like their clothes (simple and measurable), the practice has a low chance of failure.

Since the boys are young and haven’t been to a legitimate salon, the practice works to lower their expectations as well…

 

Photo Credit: CloudyPixel

©2019 Chelsea Owens


Leave a comment